NCERT Class 10 Mathematics Chapter 2 Polynomials (For CBSE, ICSE, IAS, NET, NRA 2022)

Glide to success with Doorsteptutor material for CBSE/Class-10 : get questions, notes, tests, video lectures and more- for all subjects of CBSE/Class-10.


In this chapter, you have studied the following points:

1. Polynomials of degrees 1,2 and 3 are called linear, quadratic and cubic polynomials respectively.

2. A quadratic polynomial in x with real coefficients is of the form , where a, b, c are real numbers with .

3. The zeroes of a polynomial p (x) are precisely the x-coordinates of the points, where the graph of intersects the x -axis.

4. A quadratic polynomial can have at most 2 zeroes and a cubic polynomial can have at most 3 zeroes.

5. If and are the zeroes of the quadratic polynomial , then

, .

6. If , , are the zeroes of the cubic polynomial , then



and .

7. The division algorithm states that given any polynomial and any non-zero polynomial , there are polynomials and such that


or degree .

Developed by: