Elements of Raga: Vadi, Samvadi, Anuvadi, Vivadi Svara and Samay (For CBSE, ICSE, IAS, NET, NRA 2022)

Get unlimited access to the best preparation resource for CBSE/Class-10 : get questions, notes, tests, video lectures and more- for all subjects of CBSE/Class-10.

Elements of Raga

Elements of Raga

Vadi Svara

The most conspicuous Svara in a Raga is known as the Vadi Svara. Its situation in a Raga is as significant as that of a ruler in his court. It is otherwise called ‘Jeeva Svara’ . At the end of the day, it is the most significant segment of a Raga. It gives character to a Raga. This Svara is utilized or anticipated most as often as possible in the expressions of notes during the composition of a Raga. For instance, ‘Ga’ is the Vadi Svara of Raga Yaman.

Samvadi Svara

The most significant note close to Vadi Svara is called Samvadi Svara. The span between the Vadi and Samvadi Svaras is either four or five notes, e. g. , Samvadi Svara of Raga Yaman is ‘Ni’ .

Anuvadi Svara

Aside from Vadi and Samvadi Svaras, all different Svaras in a Raga are Anuvadi, i.e.. , the Svaras that follow (the Vadi and the Samvadi) . Despite the fact that their job in a Raga is to follow Vadi and Samvadi Svaras, Anuvadi Svaras have their own significance in a Raga. In the work of the Raga, these Svaras help in ad libs through various sorts of changes and mixes. In the Raga Yaman, Sa, Re, Ma, Pa and Dha are the Anuvadi Svaras.

Vivadi Svara

Vivadi Svaras are the Svaras which are not utilized as normal Svaras in a specific Raga, however, are joined in specific mixes of notes. Vivadi Svaras are utilized sparingly to improve the excellence of the Raga. Visit use of Vivaldi Svara may change the character of the Raga. For instance, in Raga Bihag, Teevra Ma is utilized as Vivadi Svara in the accompanying expression - ‘Mama’ Pa Ga Ma Ga.


A one of a kind element of the Hindustani music framework is in the assigning of the particular hours of the day just as seasons to Ragas. Customarily, the six principal Ragas and their Raginis were designated the six seasons. The Raga Samay or timeframe determined for singing diverse Ragas is separated into eight pieces of day and night. These are known as ‘Praharas’ .

There are four Praharas of the day and four Praharas of the evening of three hours each where Ragas are characterized under three classifications:

  • Ragas having utilization of Re and Dha Shuddha
  • Ragas having the utilization of Re and Dha Komal
  • Ragas have the utilization of Ga and Ni Komal.

Developed by: