Development of Mineral and Energy Resources: Important Hydroelectric Plants in Different States of India, Nuclear Power, Regional Classification

Doorsteptutor material for IAS/Mains/Optional Public-Administration is prepared by world's top subject experts: Get detailed illustrated notes covering entire syllabus: point-by-point for high retention.

Download PDF of This Page (Size: 354K)

Important Hydroelectric Plants in Different States of India

Related image

Related Image

Important Hydroelectric Plants in Different States of India
Important Hydroelectric Plants in Different States of India


Name of Hydroelectric Plants

Jammu and Kashmir

Lower Jhelum, Salal on Chenab, Dool Hasti, and Karrah.

Punjab and Himachal Pradesh

Bhakra-Nangal on Satluj, Dehar on Beas, Giri Bata, Andhra, Binwa, Rukti, Rongtong, Bhabanagar, Bassi, Baira Siul, Chamera, and Nathpa-Jhakri on Satluj (biggest hydel power project in India).

Uttar Pradesh

Rihand, Khodri, and Chibro on Tons.


Tehri dam on Bhagirathi.


Ranapratap Sagar and Jawahar Sagar on Chambal.

Madhya Pradesh

Gandhi Sagar on Chambal, Pench, Bargi on Narmada, and Bansagar-Tons.




Subarnarekha, Maithon, Panchet, and Tilaiya (all three under DVC).

West Bengal



Hirakud on Mahanadi and Balimela.

North-eastern States

Dikhu, Doyang (both in Nagaland), Gomuti (Tripura), Loktak (Manipur), Kopili (Assam), Khandong and Kyrdemkulai (Meghalaya), Serlui and Barabi (Mizoram), and Ranganadi (Arunachal Pradesh).


Ukai (Tapi) and Kadana (Mahi).


Koyana, Bhivpuri (Tata Hydroelectric Works), Khopoli, Bhola, Bhira, Purna, Vaiterna, Paithon, and Bhatnagar Beed.

Andhra Pradesh

Lower Sileru, Upper Sileru, Machkund, Nizam Sagar, Nagarjun Sagar, and Srisailam (Krishna).


Tungabhadra, Saravati, Kalinadi, Mahatma Gandhi (Jog fall), Bhadra, Sivasamudram (Kaveri), Shimsapura, Munirabad, and Lingnamakki.


Iddikki (Periyar), Sabarigiri, Kuttiaddy, Sholayar, Sengulam, Pallivasal, Kallada, Neriamangalam, Parambikulam Aliyar, Poringal, and Ponniar.

Tamil Nadu

Pykara, Mettur, Kodayar, Sholayar, Aliayar, Sakarpathi, Moyar, Suruliyar, and Papanasam.

Nuclear Power

  • India had developed the technology of generating energy from nuclear minerals such as uranium and thorium. Installation of nuclear reactors for generating power requires huge capital and sophisticated technological skills. The share of nuclear power in the total energy produced in the country is hardly 2%. Nuclear power is a promising source of energy for future. It would play a complementary role when the other sources of power like coal and petroleum would be exhausted.

  • The Nuclear Power Programme was initiated in the 5th decade of the last century and an apex body for decision-making regarding atomic programmes, the ‘Tata Atomic Energy Commission’ was incorporated in August 1948. But progress in this direction could be made only after the establishment of the Atomic Energy Institute at Trombay in 1954. Which was renamed as the ‘Bhabha Atomic Research Centre’ (BARC) in 1967? Consequently, first nuclear power station with 320 MW capacity was set up at Tarapur near Mumbai in 1969. Later, atomic reactors were installed at Rawatbhata (300 MW) near Kota in Rajasthan, Kalpakkam (440 MW) in Tamil Nadu, and Narora in Uttar Pradesh. Kaiga in Karnataka and Kakarapara in Gujarat also have nuclear energy plants. Thus, at present, nuclear energy is produced from ten units located at six centres. Requirements of fuel and heavy water of these power reactors are fulfilled by the Nuclear Fuel Complex located at Hyderabad and heavy water plant at Vadodara.

  • 16,707 MUs nuclear power was generated in the year 2004-05 which is a small fraction of the country’s total production of electrical energy. The Department of Atomic Energy (DAE) has an ambitious nuclear power programme aiming at achieving an installed nuclear power capacity of 20,000 MWe by the year 2020.

  • Generation of nuclear power is highly hazardous. A slight carelessness in the security may cause severe accidents endangering lives of thousands of people in its surrounding areas. Therefore, strict precautions and security measures are highly essential.

Image result for Important Hydroelectric Plants in Different …

Important Hydroelectric Plants, Nuclear Power Classification

Regional Classification on the Basis of Sources of Electricity

Three types of regions can be identified on the basis of sources of electricity:

  • Hydroelectricity Dominated Region: The states included under this category are Karnataka, Kerala, Himachal Pradesh, Uttarakhand, Jammu and Kashmir, Meghalaya, Nagaland, Tripura, and Sikkim. These states are far away from coal fields but have optimum conditions for the development of hydroelectricity.

  • Thermal Power Dominated Region: It included states such as West Bengal, Jharkhand, Bihar, Chhattisgarh, Madhya Pradesh, Gujarat, Uttar Pradesh, Maharashtra, Assam, Delhi, Haryana, and Punjab. Majority of these states have reserves of coal which are utilised for power generation. Bihar, Uttar Pradesh, Haryana, and Punjab do not have coal reserves but have direct access to coal fields by railway lines. However, they are diversifying their sources of power.

  • Nuclear Power Dominated Region: Rajasthan is the only state which comes under this category. In Rajasthan more than half of the total commercial energy is nuclear. It is because the state is deficit both in coal and water.

Developed by: