History: The Vedic Age: Origin, Four Types of Vedas: Vedas, Brahmanas, Aranyakas and Upanishadas

Get top class preparation for UGC right from your home: Get complete video lectures from top expert with unlimited validity: cover entire syllabus, expected topics, in full detail- anytime and anywhere & ask your doubts to top experts.

Download PDF of This Page (Size: 283K)

The Vedic Age (1500BC–600BC)

Vedic teaching

Vedic Teaching

Vedic teaching


  • Original home of Aryans still is a controversial point.

  • According to popular belief, Aryans are supposed to have migrates from central Asia – and salted in the present frontier province and the Punjab – then called “Sapt Sindhu” that is region of seven rivers.

Important Vedic Productions Are:

  1. The Vedas

  2. The Brahamans

  3. The Aranyakas

  4. The Upanishadas

There Are Four Types of Vedas

Rig Veda: (Collection of Lyrics)

  • Also known as “1st testament of mankind”

  • It contains ao28 Hymns and 10,580 yeses divided into 10 Manadals.

  • The 1st and 10th mandalas are said to be added later.

  • The 10th mandala contains “Purushasukta” Which Explains 4 varnas namely

  • Brahmana

  • Kshatriya

  • Vaishya

  • Sudra

  • The hymns of rig Veda were recited by “Udgatri”.

Sama Veda: - (Books of Chats)

  • This Veda is important for Indian music and had 1549 Verses.

  • Except 75 Verses, all other are taken from Rig-Veda.

  • The hymns of Samveda were recited by “Udgatri”




Yajur Veda: - (Books of Sacrificial Prayers)

  • Rigveda and Samaveda are in “Verse” only Whereas Yajur Veda is in both verse and “prose”

  • It is divided into 2 parts

  • Krishna Yajur Veda

  • Shukla Yajur Veda

  • The hymns of Yajur Veda were recited by “Adhveryus”.

Atharva Veda: - (Book of Magical Formulae)

  • It was included in the category of Vedas at a later stage.

  • It contains charms and spells to prevent us from evils and diseases.

The Brahamans: -

  • It explains the hymns of the Vedas.

  • It is written in prose and is ritualistic in nature.

  • Brahma means “Sacrifice”.

  • Various rituals and sacrifices have been discussed in brahamanas.

The Aranyakas

  • Aranya means “The Forest”.

  • The “Forest test” were called Aranyakas.

  • They are the concluding portions of brahamanas.

  • It is written mainly for the hermits and the students living in jungle.

The Upanishadas

  • There are 108 Upanishadas and “Vrihadaranyaka” is the oldest Upanishadas.

  • They are philosophical texts generally called “Vedanta” because they came towards the end of Veda.

Developed by: